Singing About The Twelve Days Of Christmas in St. Croix

A few days ago, I got a copy of the most wonderful song written by Miss Barb’s students at the AZ Academy on the island of St. Croix. They decided to make their own version of the traditional carol – the Twelve Days of Christmas –  but add details that were special to their island and their celebration. It’s a great song, very funny and very singable! Especially the ….. FIVE CENTIPEDES!

Miss Barb tells us a bit more about Christmas in St. Criox: “All of these verses refer to St. Croix traditions and history. They also make Johnny Cakes. They were originally called Journey cakes…made to eat while they traveled. They are delicious! They start celebrating in December and the celebration ends with Three Kings Day in January. They also have an Adult Parade and Children’s Parade.”

And, in case you wondered, the Mocko Jumbie from verse 3 is a colorful stilt walker and dancer seen at special celebrations. What fun!

A Mocko Jumbie in St. Croix

On The Twelve Days of Christmas – Crucian Style
On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me,
An iguana in a Mango treee.
On the second day of Christmas my true love gave to me,
2 forts with cannons etc.
On the third day of Christmas my true love gave to me,
3 mocko jumbies etc.
On the fourth day of Christmas my true love gave to me,
4 frogs a singing etc.
On the fifth day of Christmas my true love gave to me,
5 centipedes etc.
On the sixth day of Christmas my true love gave to me,
6 cruise ships coming etc.
On the seventh day of Christmas my true love gave to me,
7 roosters crowing etc
On the eighth day of Christmas my true love gave to me,
8 geckos climbing etc.
On the ninth day of Christmas my true love gave to me,
9 lobsters swimming etc
On the tenth day of Christmas my true love gave to me,
10 Crucians speaking etc
On the eleventh day of Christmas my true love gave to me,
11 children dancing etc.
On the twelfth day of Christmas my true love gave to me,
12 steel pans drumming etc.

Special thanks to teacher, Barbara McVicker, for sharing this song and also the idea that the students made drawings of different parts of the song. What a great way to dive into music and mix in history, culture and celebration at the same time.

A happy island holiday to all in St. Croix – especially the bright and creative students of AZ Academy!

Leave a Reply

